驪歌輕唱 香港大學附屬學院第20屆畢業禮圓滿落幕 - 香港大學專業進修學院
Main content start

校園生活 學與教

驪歌輕唱 香港大學附屬學院第20屆畢業禮圓滿落幕活動重溫

日期
2021年12月10日 (星期五)

香港大學附屬學院第20屆畢業典禮於2021年10月27日在香港伊利沙伯體育館圓滿舉行。去年因疫情關係,畢業禮改以網上直播形式進行。隨着疫情緩和,學院在符合政府防疫措施的條件下,今年恢復舉辦實體畢業禮,師生得以聚首一堂,互相祝福,依依道別,共度珍貴難忘的時刻。

畢業典禮上,學院向來自不同學部的畢業生授予副學士或高級文憑學銜,包括:文學及人文學部、數學及科學學部、英文學部、工程及科技學部、經濟及商學學部和社會科學學部。香港大學專業進修學院院長李經文教授、香港大學附屬學院校長陳龍生教授及香港大學專業進修學院榮譽院士林超英先生分別致辭。

離別的叮嚀

李經文教授讚揚畢業同學,在兩年學習歲月中,經歷社會動盪及新冠病毒疫情,能夠適應全新網上學習模式,專注學習,完成目標。他勉勵同學:「畢業並不是學習的終點,而是終身學習旅程的一個階段,也是邁向更大成就的起點。」李教授寄語各位畢業生為自己設定更高目標,力爭上游,發奮向前。

陳龍生教授表示:「同學在充滿挑戰的兩年中完成學業,實在難能可貴,學院深感驕傲,並以此為榮。」他感謝老師、職員、學生輔導員及校友的貢獻和專業支援,讓同學能夠取得今天的成就。他希望畢業生成為校友後,能夠提攜後學,協助學院造福社會。

前香港天文台台長林超英先生與大家分享學習經驗:「對天文學的興趣讓我成為天文台台長;愛上並學習觀鳥使我成為觀鳥學會主席,也改變了我的人生。」他祝願畢業生能夠找到自己的方向,然後朝着目標努力實踐,並在可能範圍內幫助他人,回饋社會,為地球謀福祉。

畢業的感言

典禮上,學院同時頒授傑出教師獎,以表揚教學表現傑出的老師,以及向六十多位同學頒贈不同獎項及獎學金,以嘉許取得卓越成績或有傑出服務的畢業生。

最後,畢業生代表陳灝銘在感謝辭中坦言,在過去兩年,他們不單要調整學習方式、做好時間管理,更要時刻提醒自己遠離誘惑。「衷心感謝教授、講師在線上的耐心指導,透過各種互動方式激發我們的學習動機;在線下的支持和鼓勵,讓我們感受到溫暖的學習氛圍。」他深信,在往後的人生,縱使遇上困難和變化,他們仍能懷着信心踏向光明的未來。

典禮過後,其他同學也積極分享畢業的心情。社會科學副學士課程的盧澍怡談到自己的感受:「文憑試成績不是升學之路的唯一定義。修讀副學士也能發掘自己的長處,找到自己的方向。」同科的區瑋霖表示認同:「在港大附屬學院唸書,讓我認清自己的興趣和目標,努力學習,順利升讀港大全球創意產業課程。」

室內設計高級文憑課程的黃浩然勸勉來屆同學:「副學位是文憑試考生的好選擇。機會是留給有準備的人,好好學習就有好好的發揮。」黃浩然母親則以家長身份交流心得:「即使在疫情期間取消了面授課堂,但老師非常用心進行線上教學,關心學生學習進度和生活。學校好,老師好,我的孩子也很有歸屬感。」

The 20th Graduation Ceremony of the HKU SPACE Community College held successfully - HKU SPACE
Main content start

Life at HKU SPACE Our Stories

The 20th Graduation Ceremony of the HKU SPACE Community College held successfullyEvent Recap

Date
10 Dec 2021 (Fri)

The 20th Graduation Ceremony of the HKU SPACE Community College was successfully held at the Queen Elizabeth Stadium Arena, Hong Kong, on 27 October 2021. Last year, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the graduation ceremony was switched to a live broadcast. As the outbreak eased, the College resumed its physical graduation ceremony this year by complying with the government's precautionary measures. Teachers and students were able to gather together to share good wishes and say goodbye to each other, spending precious and unforgettable moments.

At the ceremony, the College awarded graduates from different divisions with associate degrees or higher diplomas, including the Division of Arts and Humanities, the Division of Mathematics and Science, the Division of English, the Division of Engineering and Technology, the Division of Economics and Business and the Division of Social Sciences. The opening speeches of the ceremony were given by Professor William K.M. Lee, Director of HKU SPACE, Professor Chan Lung-sang, College Principal, and Mr Lam Chiu-ying, Honorary Fellow of HKU SPACE.

Giving advice before parting

Professor William K.M. Lee praised the graduates for being able to adapt to the new online learning model, focusing on studying, and completing their goals while experiencing social turmoil and the pandemic during their two years of study. “Graduation is not the end of learning, but a stage in the journey of lifelong learning as well as a starting point of moving onto greater achievements.” Professor Lee said. He wished that the graduates could set higher goals for themselves, strive for the best, and move forward with enthusiasm.

Professor Chan Lung-sang said, “The College is very proud and feels honoured that students have completed their studies in two challenging years. It’s very commendable.” He thanked the teachers, staff, student counselors and alumni for their contributions and professional support, which allowed students to be able to achieve today's success. He hoped that the graduates can support new students and help the College benefit society after they have become part of the College’s alumni.

The former Director of the Hong Kong Observatory, Mr Lam Chiu-ying, shared his learning experience with everyone, “Being interested in astronomy made me a director of the Observatory; loving and learning bird-watching made me the Chairman of the Hong Kong Bird Watching Society, and has changed my life.” He wished graduates could find their own direction, work hard towards their goals, and help others when they can, giving back to society, and working for the well-being of the planet.

Graduate testimonials

At the ceremony, the College also presented the Outstanding Teachers Awards to commend teachers for their excellent teaching performance, and presented different awards and scholarships to more than 60 students to recognise graduates who have achieved outstanding results or provided great services.

Lastly, the graduate representative Jeffrey Chan said in his thank you speech that in the past two years, they  not only needed to adjust their learning methods and improve time management, but also needed to remind themselves to stay away from various temptations. “I sincerely thank our lecturers for their kind and patient teaching, helping us solve problems both online and offline, and making us feel the warm atmosphere even when learning via the Internet.” He believed that despite difficulties and changes in their future lives, they would still be able to move forward with confidence.

Other students also expressed their feelings of graduation after the ceremony. Zoe Lo from the Associate of Social Sciences said, “HKDSE is not the only path to further studies. An associate degree can also help people discover their own strengths and find their direction.” Sharing the same view with Zoe, Anson Au, a fellow of the same subject, added, “Studying at the College has allowed me to recognise my own interests and goals, study hard, and successfully progress to the University of Hong Kong for the Interdisciplinary Programme in Global Creative Industries.”

Wong Ho-yin of the Higher Diploma in Interior Design advised new students, “An associate degree is a good choice for HKDSE students. Chance favours the prepared mind, so studying hard will deliver good performance.” Wong Ho-yin’s mother also shared her experience as a parent, “Although face-to-face classes were cancelled during the pandemic, teachers were very dedicated to online teaching and cared about students’ learning progress and life. Both the College and teachers were very good, which gave my child a sense of belonging.”