虛擬實境技術 電子學習重要資源 - 香港大學專業進修學院
Main content start

校園生活學與教

虛擬實境技術 電子學習重要資源活動重溫

日期
2020年12月10日 (星期四)

VR虛擬實境以數碼方式複製實體世界或設施,使我們能夠以360度全方位視角沉浸式體驗環境,能提升學習效能,是電子學習不可或缺的資源。這項先進技術對航空課程的學習尤其重要,事實上,香港機場管理局現正將VR用於運作演習或培訓,例如強化航空程序訓練、教導學員航空安全程序。

航空程序講究系統性,每個細節都不能馬虎,在真實環境下進行實踐培訓可以大大提高學習效果。可是,學院的四個學銜頒授課程,包括航空學(高中應用學習)證書和航空學高級文憑課程,每年有近千名學生,要安排全體學生到機場禁區參觀和接受培訓幾乎不可能,所以,高質素的VR便是最佳出路。

生命科學及科技學院副總監林世銘博士解釋:「學院於2018年開始引入單用家VR技術,以VR呈現機場模擬環境,學生可學習為客人辦理登機手續。在無法走進真正駕駛艙的情況下,學生可以在VR的虛擬駕駛艙控制面板上進行飛行前檢查程序。VR對目視飛行訓練亦十分有用,學生預先『目睹』真實環境,了解地勢和環境,便可減低在飛行過程中的焦慮感。透過VR,學生獲得『真實』體驗,教師也更容易、更全面地與學生交流。」

學院不斷強化電子學習資源,最近已成功開發了多用家VR,林博士介紹:「學院是香港首間於航空課程中應用此程式的大專院校。多用家VR是一項突破性成就,它比VR的功能強大多倍。後者只供一位使用者;新程式為學生提供了更接近現實的機艙體驗,它容許多人一同連線,多個機組人員在同一虛擬環境中進行互動,並依照VR的指令合作完成任務。在多用家VR中,他們學習到如何合作處理飛行中所遇上的不同緊急事故,進一步提升他們的溝通技巧和團隊精神。」

學院一直致力為學生提供互動式學習材料,鑑於今年疫情導致大部分課堂移至網上,林博士表示:「我們正計劃將多用家VR應用程式移至雲端,並讓學生在校外也可存取VR內容,與同學連線一起行動。這個安排有助學生在任何突發狀況下,都能在家輕鬆學習。」

虛擬實境體驗  帶領學員衝上雲霄

VR虛擬實境技術就像一道隨意門,在瞬刻之間將航空學課程的學生從教室帶到「真實」的機場和機艙,幫助同學將書本理論應用到現實環境。學院於2018/19學年首次將此技術引進教學之中,這對學習成效有何正面影響?多用家VR又如何幫助學生衝上雲霄?且聽兩位航空公司及機場服務高級文憑學生娓娓道來。

黃芍媛

我對航空機組人員的工作及彼此之間的協調一直很感興趣。我無法在現實生活中經歷機艙火災,但多用家VR讓我得到「真實」的體驗,使我有機會將課堂上學到的知識發揮出來。更重要的是,VR境象與現實世界無異,機艙設備的位置、機組人員座位、滅火器等皆是準確無誤,讓我彷彿置身其中,努力完成「滅火」任務。

柯綽盈

VR讓我可以學習到航空業的多方面知識,特別是多用家VR。它的境象非常逼真,例如機艙內的座位距離、滅火零件的位置等,讓我真實而互動地了解到機組人員在飛行中遇上緊急情況時的操作程序。我可以肯定地說,VR幫助我加強了機艙服務方面的能力,對我將來投身航空業有莫大幫助。

你的意見 讓我們做得更好

VR technology provides important e-Learning resources - HKU SPACE
Main content start

Life at HKU SPACE Our Stories

VR technology provides important e-Learning resourcesEvent Recap

Date
10 Dec 2020 (Thu)

VR replicates the physical world through digital methods, allowing us to experience the environment with an immersive 360-degree perspective. This advanced technology enhances students’ learning experiences and is an indispensable resource for e-Learning. It is especially important for aviation courses. In fact, the Airport Authority Hong Kong is currently using VR for operational exercises or training, such as the training of aviation procedures and teaching aviation safety procedures.

Aviation procedures are systematic and detail-oriented so practicing training in a real environment can greatly improve students’ learning efficiency. However, the School’s four aviation award-bearing programmes, including the Certificate in Aviation Studies (Senior Secondary Applied Learning) and the Higher Diploma in Aviation Studies, have nearly 1,000 students every year. It is very hard to arrange for all of the students to visit and receive training in the restricted area at Hong Kong airport. Therefore, using high quality VR is the next best solution.

Dr S.M. Lam, Associate Head of the College of Life Sciences and Technology at HKU SPACE, explained: “In 2018, the School started to use single-user VR to present a simulated airport environment, allowing students to learn customer check-in procedures. In the case of not being able to enter the actual cockpit, students can perform pre-flight inspection procedures through the virtual cockpit control panel in VR. VR is also very useful for visual flight training. Students can “see” the real environment in advance to understand the terrain and environment which helps reduce anxiety during a flight. With VR, students can get a “real” experience, and teachers can communicate with students more easily and comprehensively."

The School keeps improving e-Learning resources, and has successfully developed a multi-user VR application recently. Dr Lam said: “The School is the first tertiary institution in Hong Kong applying this application in aviation courses. Multi-user VR is a breakthrough achievement and is many times more powerful than single-user VR. The latter is only for one user; the new application can provide students with a more realistic cabin experience, allowing multiple users to connect together. Multiple crew members can interact in the same virtual environment, co-operate with each other and complete tasks by following VR orders. Through multi-user VR, they’ve learnt how to co-operate and deal with different emergencies during a flight, to further improve their communication skills and team spirit.”

The School has always been committed to providing students with interactive learning materials. In view of the fact that most classrooms have been moved online this year due to COVID-19, Dr Lam said: “We are planning to move the multi-user VR application to the cloud to allow students to be able to access the VR content outside of school and connect with their classmates. This arrangement will help students learn at home easily in any emergency situation.”

Students “soar” to the sky with VR

VR technology is like a portal which can take aviation students from classrooms to the “real” airport and cabin in an instant, helping them practice theoretical knowledge in the real environment. The School introduced this technology into teaching for the first time in the 2018/19 academic year. What’s been the positive impact on learning effectiveness? How can multi-user VR help students soar to the sky? Let us listen to the experiences of two students from the Higher Diploma in Airlines and Airport Services.

Wong Cheuk-wun Joyce

I’ve always been very interested in the operation and coordination between inflight cabin crews. Although it was hard to experience a cabin fire in real life, multi-user VR gave me a “real” experience, allowing me to put what I’ve learned from classes into practice. More importantly, VR presented a very realistic environment, the position of cabin equipment, crew seats and fire extinguishers were all accurate. I felt as if I were actually there, throwing myself into the “fire extinguish” action.

Or Cheuk-ying Charmaine

VR, especially multi-user VR, has helped me gain aviation knowledge. VR’s environment was incredibly realistic to me, such as the distance between seats in the cabin and the location of fire extinguishers, allowing me to truly and interactively understand how flight attendants work when there is an emergency during the flight. There is no doubt that VR has helped me strengthen my in-flight service capabilities and has benefitted me in my future career in the aviation industry.