乘長風破萬里浪 爭上游開創明天 - 香港大學專業進修學院
Main content start

校園生活學與教

乘長風破萬里浪 爭上游開創明天專題報導

日期
2020年7月16日 (星期四)
張顥嚴

張顥嚴

陳沛盈

陳沛盈

陳盈智

陳盈智

劉翠兒

劉翠兒

鄭穎珊

鄭穎珊

每年中學文憑試放榜,考生有人歡喜有人憂,能升讀心儀學府者固然開心,成績差強人意者也無須灰心失望,不妨轉入另一條跑道,也可到達目的地。

香港大學附屬學院於2000年創校,為徘徊於人生十字路口的落敗考生提供副學位課程;20年來,數以萬計同學經由學院重新出發,順利進入夢想大學校園,為自己開創光輝燦爛的明天。

故事年年有 各自各精彩

2018年畢業生
鄭穎珊 ─ 護理學副學士畢業,以優異成績獲香港理工大學職業治療學系取錄,創學系之先河。「有時候,失敗是為了找到更好的路。我在學院的最大得着,不單止是第一個升上『神科』理大職業治療的畢業生,我還認識了一班好朋友,互相鼓勵一步步走出谷底,最後一齊升上大學。」

張顥嚴 ─ 中學選修理科,讀得既吃力又沒趣,文憑試未開考已「打定輸數」,放榜後入讀學院工商管理副學士。「我已錯過一次,副學士是我第二次機會,所以我唸得特別專心,畢業後獲城大及港大同時取錄,結果選了後者的工商管理學學士(會計及財務)。」

2019年畢業生及學生
崔俊杰 ─ 在文憑試考獲23分,但因中文科成績不符入大學資格,便報讀學院生物醫學科學副學士。作為香港射箭隊代表的他偶因外出比賽而缺課,幸老師為他補課追回學業,最後順利升讀理工大學醫療化驗科學理學士。他寄語考生「堅持目標,成績未如理想者可考慮唸副學士,往後仍有機會躋身心儀學府。」

劉翠兒 ─ 在文憑試放榜後,放棄城市大學市場學學位,選擇在學院唸文學副學士(語言及人文學科),修讀自己喜歡的社會科學,一年後以優異成績獲香港大學社會科學學院取錄。「與其浪費四年去讀自己不喜歡的專業,不如用一年唸副學士過渡到自己喜歡的學科。」

2020年畢業生及學生
陳沛瑩(姊)─ 中五成績「包尾」而須重讀,中六成為「學霸」,雖在文憑試取得21分,但不獲八大錄取。在學院苦讀兩年文學副學士(語言及人文學科)後,今年以優異成績獲港大及浸大中文系取錄,將直接入讀大學三年級。「老師鼓勵我參加寫作比賽,令我有機會逐步實踐自己成為作家的夢想。」

陳盈智(弟)─ 在嶺大視覺研究系唸了一年,發覺課程與個人興趣有落差,幸獲姊姊支持毅然退學,轉到學院修讀文學副學士(語言及人文學科),一年後的今天便憑着滿分成績獲港大取錄。「我慶幸來到這裏,為自己的興趣努力前進。在同學和師長的支持和鼓勵下,我亦變得更外向積極,對未來前程更有信心。」

Set our sail and brave the winds, create a brighter tomorrow - HKU SPACE
Main content start

Life at HKU SPACEOur Stories

Set our sail and brave the winds, create a brighter tomorrowFeature Story

Date
16 Jul 2020 (Thu)
Timothy

Timothy

Erin

Erin

Wesley

Wesley

Paris

Paris

Ashley

Ashley

Every year when the Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education (HKDSE) results come out, some candidates are happy and some are upset. Those who can go to their favourite universities are certainly happy but for those with poor grades do not need to be discouraged. You will be able to take a different route to reach your destination.

HKU SPACE Community College (CC) was founded in 2000 providing disappointed candidates who are at the crossroads of their lives with sub-degree programmes. Over the past 20 years, tens of thousands of students have had a new start from the School and have successfully entered their ideal universities, creating a bright future for themselves.

There are wonderful stories here every year

2018 graduates
Ashley became the first student who graduated from the Associate of Nursing Studies, CC, and then successfully entered Hong Kong Polytechnic University for a Bachelor’s degree in Science in Occupational Therapy. "Sometimes, failure can help you succeed in a better way. My greatest gain at the School is not only that I’ve become its first graduate to study for the Bachelor of Science in Occupational Therapy at PolyU, I’ve also gained a group of good friends. We helped each other during this period and together went to university."

Timothy chose to study science subjects during secondary school and found them difficult and boring, so he was already worried about failing exams before DSE. After the exam results were released, he went to the CC for the Associate of Business Administration. "I missed my opportunity once and the associate degree was my second chance, so I was very hardworking. After graduation, I received offers from both CityU and HKU. As a result, I went to the latter and studied Business Administration in Accounting and Finance."

2019 graduates and students
Jacky got a score of 23 in DSE but he went to the CC for an associate degree in Biomedical Sciences because his Chinese grade was not good enough. As a representative of the Hong Kong Archery Team, he was absent from the College due to archery competitions. Luckily, later he caught up on learning with his teachers’ help, and then successfully advanced to a BSc (Hons) in Medical Laboratory Science at the Hong Kong Polytechnic University. He says to candidates to "Stick to your goals. Consider studying for an associate degree if your DSE marks are not good, there is still a lot of hope for you to go to your favorite universities."

Paris gave up going to the City University of Hong Kong to study in the Department of Marketing after her DSE results were released.  Instead, she chose the Associate of Arts in Languages and Humanities at the CC to study her favorite social science. After one year, she was admitted by the Faculty of Social Sciences, the University of Hong Kong, with excellent scores. “I’d rather spend a year on an associate degree to help me transfer to the subjects I actually like than waste four years studying something I’m not interested in.”

2020 graduates and students
Erin (older sister) needed to re-study the fifth grade at secondary school due to poor marks became a “super star” in the sixth grade. Although she scored 21 in DSE, she failed to enter the top eight universities of Hong Kong. After two years of study at the CC with the associate degree in Arts in Languages and Humanities, this year she received offers from the Chinese Departments of both HKU and HKBU, where she will be able to enter senior year directly. "My teacher encouraged me to participate in writing competitions, allowing me opportunities to gradually practice my dream of becoming a writer."

Wesley (younger brother) studied for a year in the Department of Visual Studies of HKBU and found that the curriculum did not apply to his personal interests. Fortunately, with the support of his sister, he dropped out and then transferred to HKU to study an associate degree in Arts in Languages and Humanities. After one year, today he was accepted by the University of Hong Kong with full scores. "I am glad that I’ve come here and worked hard for my own interests. With the support and encouragement of my classmates and teachers, I have become more positive and outgoing, and I feel more confident in my future."